Review of the Use of Committee Funds of the 112th Congress

1310 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 | Nov 30, 2011 10:30am

Opening Statements


Brady Statement

11/30/11 Committee Funding Hearing

Thank you, Chairman Lungren, for having this hearing today. It’s always a pleasure to see and hear from the chairmen and ranking members at the other committees and to review what they have been up to this session.

These oversight hearings are always important, but especially so this year as we examine the effects of the previous cuts and consider additional reductions for 2012.  

As a Ranking Member, my top concern is the fair treatment of the minority at each Committee. I’m fortunate to have a strong working relationship with my counterpart here. When I was Chairman during the two preceding Congresses, I saw no reason to interfere with the minority’s control of their one-third of the budget, and Chairman Lungren has extended me the same courtesy.

I hope that each committee has fairly applied the one-third rule. Where conflicts have arisen, I believe that this Committee will be able to help resolve them. 



Committee on the Budget

The Honorable Paul Ryan - testimony

The Honorable Chris Van Hollen - testimony

Committee on Agriculture

The Honorable Frank Lucas - testimony

The Honorable Collin Peterson - testimony

Committee on Education and the Workforce

The Honorable John Kline - testimony

The Honorable George Miller - testimony

Committee on Science, Space, and Technology

The Honorable Ralph Hall - testimony

The Honorable Eddie Bernice Johnson - testimony

Committee on Homeland Security

The Honorable Peter King - testimony

The Honorable Bennie Thompson - testimony

Committee on Veterans’ Affairs

The Honorable Jeff Miller - testimony

The Honorable Bob Filner - testimony

Committee on Financial Services

The Honorable Spencer Bachus - testimony

The Honorable Barney Frank - testimony


Committee on Rules

The Honorable Pete Sessions, Vice Chair - testimony

The Honorable Louise McIntosh Slaughter - testimony

Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure

The Honorable John Mica - testimony

The Honorable Nick Rahall - testimony

Committee on Ethics

The Honorable Joe Bonner - testimony

The Honorable Linda Sánchez - testimony

Committee on Ways and Means

The Honorable Dave Camp - testimony

The Honorable Sander Levin - testimony

Committee on Foreign Affairs

The Honorable Ileana Ros-Lehtinen - testimony

The Honorable Howard Berman - testimony

Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence

The Honorable Mike Rogers (MI) - testimony

The Honorable C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger - testimony

Committee on Judiciary

The Honorable Lamar Smith - testimony

The Honorable John Conyers - testimony


Committee on Natural Resources

The Honorable Doc Hastings - testimony

The Honorable Edward Markey - testimony

Committee on Armed Services

The Honorable Howard “Buck” McKeon - testimony

The Honorable Adam Smith - testimony

Committee on Small Business

The Honorable Sam Graves - testimony

The Honorable Nydia Velázquez - testimony

Committee on Energy and Commerce

The Honorable Fred Upton - testimony

The Honorable Henry Waxman - testimony

Committee on Oversight and Government Reform

The Honorable Darrell Issa - testimony

The Honorable Elijah Cummings - testimony